Snehil Sharma

Shri Guru Tegh Bahadur Khalsa College - BA (Hons) Political Science

College Info:

Sri Guru Tegh Bahadur Khalsa College, a constituent college of University of Delhi, was established in 1951 and is maintained by Delhi Sikh Gurudwara Management Committee (DSGMC), a statutory body established under an act of the Parliament of India. The focus of the College at the time of inception was to ensure a comprehensive social transformation through access to quality education, in particular to young Punjabi Refugees of Partition in 1947, and to conserve and promote Punjabi language, culture, and heritage. The College is named after Ninth Guru – Sri Guru Tegh Bahadur, who sacrificed his life to uphold secular values, and is an institution with cosmopolitan environment and progressive outlook.

Over the years, the College has carved a niche for itself and is known to be one of the leading colleges of University. At present there are 18 undergraduate programmes, 2 B.Tech. programmes, 12 postgraduate programmes, one postgraduate diploma, 2 undergraduate diplomas, and 9 certificate courses, making a total of 44 programmes. During the current session 2015-16 there are 3,768 students in these programmes, and 140 full-time teachers, out of which 101 are permanent with 7 on leave/lien. During last four years, 57 teachers participated in various staff-development programmes.

strong>Course Info:

Political science is a social science which deals with systems of governance, and the analysis of political activities, political thoughts, and political behavior. It deals extensively with the theory and practice of politics which is commonly thought of as determining of the distribution of power and resources. Political scientists “see themselves engaged in revealing the relationships underlying political events and conditions, and from these revelations they attempt to construct general principles about the way the world of politics works. Political science is methodologically diverse and appropriates many methods originating in social research. Approaches include positivism, interpretivism, rational choice theory, behaviouralism, structuralism, post-structuralism, realism, institutionalism, and pluralism. Political science, as one of the social sciences, uses methods and techniques that relate to the kinds of inquiries sought: primary sources such as historical documents and official records, secondary sources such as scholarly journal articles, survey research, statistical analysis, case studies, experimental research, and model building.